Log Out


4 deans quit over VC stand

Classes impacted & panel stalled

By Avik Chakraborty in Dibrugarh

  • Published 26.09.18, 1:10 AM
  • Updated 26.09.18, 1:10 AM
Dibrugarh University
Dibrugarh University File picture

The four deans of Dibrugarh University — L.K. Nath, dean, School of Science and Engineering, Dilip Majumdar, dean, School of Earth, Atmospheric Science, Environment and Energy, Ajanta B. Rajkonwar, dean, school of Commerce and Management Science and N.K. Handique, dean, School of Humanities, Social Sciences and Law — submitted their resignation to Dibrugarh University vice-chancellor on Monday.

The four deans were unhappy with the decision of the vice-chancellor to withdraw point C of the terms of reference of a notification vide memo DU/DR-A/43-1/18/1102 dated August 23 this year without consulting them.

Point C orchestrates reorganisation of school and school boards.

Talking to The Telegraph on Tuesday, Rajkonwar said, “In August last year, a 11-member committee was formed but suddenly the vice-chancellor, professor Ranjit Tamuli, withdrew point C without our consent. Instead, he held a meeting with the teachers’ association and decided to withdrew point C. We were very humiliated by this decision.”

She said after the formation of the committee, they had been working in tandem to expedite the development of the Dibrugarh University.

“If they took a unilateral decision, then why was the committee formed? We feel humiliated and decided to submit our resignation,” she added.

Nath, who is also the chairman of the committee, said it had been formed to ensure the overall development of the various schools under Dibrugarh University.

But before they could start work, point C was withdrawn. “We are very unhappy and feel most humiliated,” he added.